The job of your dreams… or not…

In honor of Labor Day in North America, tell us what’s the one job you could never imagine yourself doing.

There are so many jobs out there that its hard to pick just one that I could not do. My personality, my disposition and some of my phobias would stop me from doing things like teaching or nursing (I just couldn’t deal with the needles. Needles have always freaked me out.)
However, I think the one thing that would top the list is probably anything related to drawing blood. I would inevitably have to deal with screaming and crying children, which is a big turn-off for me, but on top of that, there would just be so many needles that I wouldn’t be able to handle it and keep my hand steady enough to successfully get a vein (even on someone sitting perfectly still.) Heck, even the smell of the place I go to get blood drawn makes me sick…
I definitely have a respect for all the people who can do that sort of job, though. They have to deal with two things that make most people a little squeamish: needles and blood. And then, on top of that, they have to handle people who either freak out or almost pass out when they’re pricked, which can’t be easy. (I’ll admit, I fall into the latter category; I usually start hyperventilating once the alcohol swab comes out, and by the time they’re about to go for a vein, I’m in peak freak-out mode.)

This prompt was generated here.

4 thoughts on “The job of your dreams… or not…

Read something interesting? Leave a reply below!

